Connect with us

Hall of Fame class of 2020 highlighted by Kobe Bryant, Kevin Garnett, Tim Duncan, Tamika Catchings

Hall of Fame, Kobe Bryant, Kevin Garnett, Tim Duncan

The Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame class for 2020 is now official and will be highlighted by Kobe Bryant, Kevin Garnett, Tim Duncan and Tamika Catchings, according to Jonathan Feigen of The Houston Chronicle.

Rudy Tomjanovich, Barbara Stevens, Eddie Sutton and Kim Mulkey will also be inducted.

While every Hall of Fame class is star-studded, this one is particularly ripe with some of the best players to ever step on the hardwood.

Bryant, who passed away in a helicopter crash this past January, is widely regarded as the second-best shooting guard in NBA history behind Michael Jordan.

He spent his entire 20-year career with the Los Angeles Lakers, winning five championships. Three of those came alongside of Shaquille O’Neal when the Lakers three-peated between 2000 and 2002. No other team has accomplished that feat since.

Bryant added a couple of more titles in 2009 and 2010.

Garnett starred for three different teams during his NBA tenure, spending time with the Minnesota Timberwolves, Boston Celtics and, briefly, the Brooklyn Nets.

Garnett played 21 seasons in the league, with 13-and-a-half of those campaigns coming with the Timberwolves. However, KG won his championship with the Celtics in 2008 and is considered one of the top power forwards ever.

Meanwhile, Duncan spent all 19 of his years in the NBA with the San Antonio Spurs, leading the franchise to five championships. Unlike many other Hall of Famers, Duncan spread his rings out across multiple decades, as he won his first title in 1999 and captured his last championship in 2014.

Most consider Duncan the best power forward of all-time.

Finally, Catchings was a WNBA star for the Indiana Fever. She played 15 seasons for the team between 2002 and 2016 and was consistently on of the top scorers in the league throughout her career.