Connect with us


Ravens and Bears to play in 2018 Hall of Fame Game

jordan howard, bears

The Baltimore Ravens and the Chicago Bears have been chosen to play in the 2018 edition of the Pro Football Hall of Fame Game on Thursday, Aug. 2.

The Ravens and Bears just had their respective iconic middle linebackers – Ray Lewis for Baltimore and Brian Urlacher for Chicago – enshrined in Canton in their first year on the ballot. Bobby Beathard, Robert Brazile, Brian Dawkins, Jerry Kramer, Randy Moss and Terrell Owens are the other six members that will join Lewis and Urlacher in the 2018  Hall of Fame class.

It’ll be the Bears’ first appearance in the Hall of Fame Game since 2005. Chicago is a perfect 4-0 all-time in Hall of Fame Games, the second-best record in NFL history behind the Washington Redskins at 5-0.

As for the Ravens, it’ll be their first-ever appearance in the Hall of Fame game. They have the dubious distinction of being the last team in NFL history to feature in the game.

The Bears and Ravens just faced off against one another last season in Week 6. Chicago beat Baltimore 27-24 on the road thanks to a game-winning field goal by kicker Connor Barth in overtime. Jordan Howard had 167 rushing yards to help rookie quarterback Mitchell Trubisky get his first-ever win as a pro.

The Hall of Fame Game will mark new Bears head coach Matt Nagy’s first official game in charge of Chicago. Nagy was hired this offseason after the firing of John Fox following three disappointing seasons in Chicago. He had spent the past two seasons as the Kansas City Chiefs offensive coordinator.