Connect with us


Spurs fail to produce All-NBA player for 1st time since 1996-97 season


For the first time since the 1996-97 season, the San Antonio Spurs didn’t have an All-NBA player.

Tim Duncan, David Robinson, Manu Ginobili, Tony Parker, Kawhi Leonard and LaMarcus Aldridge are the players who made an All-NBA team for the Spurs during the 21-season streak.

Aldridge and DeMar DeRozan are the two best players on the Spurs. Neither, though, was able to garner enough votes to make an All-NBA team this season.

Aldridge averaged 21.3 points, 9.2 rebounds and 2.4 assists per game during the regular season while shooting 51.9 percent from the field, 23.8 percent beyond the arc, and 84.7 percent from the free-throw line. The seven-time All-Star recorded 32 double-doubles.

In his first season with the Spurs, DeRozan put up 21.2 points, 6.0 rebounds and 6.2 assists. The swingman shot 48.1 percent overall, 83.0 percent from the foul line, and recorded 12 double-doubles and one triple-double.

The Spurs won 48 games during the regular season. They were the seventh seed in the Western Conference standings and lost to the Denver Nuggets in seven games in the first round of the 2019 playoffs.

As long as Gregg Popovich is coaching the team, San Antonio will always be a playoff team which competes for 48 minutes. Point guard Dejounte Murray will be back next season for the Spurs after missing the entire 2018-19 season with an ACL injury.