Mumbai Indians and Rajasthan Royals made their rivalry open in the last league match of the 2014 IPL season. When MI needed a boundary and Faulkner conceded a six to Aditya Tare. A historic run-chase in T20 cricket history. After that match in 2014, RR played MI 10 times and won 6 times. These two giants are clashing tonight to strengthen their table positions.

Mumbai lost their first match, and fans were happy about it! Fans will be upset If MI wins their first match of the IPL season. Losing first matches brings good luck to MI. Call them a slow starter, but they rise above others when the time comes. On the other hand, Rajasthan starts their season with firey wins, and then the losing streak continues! But MI vs RR is the age-old rivalry to watch out for.

This is a rivalry between Mahela Jayawardene vs Kumar Sangakara + Lasith Malinga. Kieron Pollard vs Shimron Hetmyer. Jasprit Bumrah vs Trent Boult. Rohit Sharma vs Sanju Samson. Ravi Ashwin vs Murugan Ashwin. A battle royale to be the one true team in West India!

At DY Patil Stadium:


MI vs RR at Brabourne Stadium – 1 match
MI won – 1
RR won – 0

H2H Stats:

Batting 1st WonBatting 2nd Won

H2H Stats:

S Samson161653006335.33145.21
R Sharma201939301520.68128.01
K Pollard211837302124.87140.23
S Yadav8830802344.00145.28
J Buttler6530003175.00166.67
I Kishan6616202132.40137.29
D Padikkal3312802042.67143.82
R Parag325100151.00141.67
S Hetmyer555000012.50121.95
Y Jaiswal334400114.67141.94


R Ashwin3232246.97
Y Chahal1515228.03
K Pollard2114159.23
J Bumrah1010146.47
T Boult7778.59
P Krishna66510.33
N Coulter-Nile3347.36
J Unadkat5548.80
M Ashwin4439.33
B Thampi11113.00
M Markande33010.14

Venue Stats:

(Overall T20 stats)

K Pollard448900129.67181.63
R Sharma657200114.40104.35


K Pollard4468.43

Probable Playing 11:

Suryakumar Yadav is fit and likey to come in. Besides that, no other changes are expected in the MI squad.

Live and breathe sports?

🚨 Get viral graphics, memes, rumors and trending sports news delivered right to your inbox with the Clutch Newsletter.

MI: R Sharma, I Kishan, S Yadav, T Varma, T David, K Pollard, D Sams, T Mills, J Bumrah, M Ashwin, B Thampi
Unavailable: J Archer

Colter-Nile tumbled in his bowling in the last game vs SRH and left the field. If he is not fit to play, Jimmy Neesham can replace him. No other changes are expected in the RR squad.

RR: Y Jaiswal, J Buttler, D Padikkal, S Samson, S Hetmyer, R Parag, N Coulter-Nile/J Neesham, R Ashwin, T Boult, Y Chahal, P Krishna

Fantasy Picks:

WK – I Kishan, S Samson, J Buttler
Batters – S Yadav, D Padikkal, T David
AR – K Pollard
Bowlers – J Bumrah, T Boult, Y Chahal, R Ashwin, N Coulter-Nile

Punt picks – T Varma, R Ashwin, T David

Common C/VC – S Samson, J Buttler, I Kishan

Punt C/VC – J Bumrah, D Padikkal, K Pollard, N Coulter-Nile

Player vs Player Battles:

S Samson:
vs Bumrah – 2W
vs Pollard – 1W

R Sharma:
vs Boult – 4W
vs Chahal – 1W
vs R Ashwin – 2W
vs Krishna – 1W
vs N C-Nile – 3W

S Yadav:
vs Boult – 1W
vs Chahal – 3W
vs Krishna – 1W
vs N C-Nile – 1W

K Pollard:
vs Boult – 1W
vs Chahal – 5W
vs R Ashwin – 5W
vs N C-Nile – 1W

J Buttler:
vs Bumrah – 3W
vs Sams – 1W

I Kishan:
vs Boult – 1W
vs Chahal – 1W

D Padikkal:
vs Bumrah – 2

S Hetmyer:
vs Bumrah – 2
vs M Ashwin – 1W

Interesting Records:

  • Trent Boult dismissed Rohit Sharma four times in T20 cricket so far.
  • R Ashwin and Y Chahal dismissed K Pollard five times each!
  • This game will be Samson’s 200th T20.