NBA L2M Report reveals Timberwolves got screwed on De’Aaron Fox putback attempt
The Kings trailed the Timberwolves by 17 points with 2:49 left in the fourth quarter. Everyone inside Target Center assumed the game was over.
Sacramento, however, rallied around each other and went on a crazy run to force the game into overtime. They also got some help from the basketball gods.
With 4.7 seconds left in regulation, Fox was at the free-throw line with the Kings down by three points. He made the first free-throw and was going to intentionally miss the second one so the Kings could grab the rebound and hit a layup to tie the game.
Fox executed it perfectly, as the lefty missed the free-throw, grabbed his own rebound and hit a layup with 3.6 seconds left to tie the game:
De'Aaron Fox intentionally misses the free-throw, gets the rebound and lays it in to force OT. pic.twitter.com/FY2nrEpAQk
— NBA (@NBA) January 28, 2020
However, it looks like Fox’s shot shouldn’t have counted, as the NBA’s last two minute report says Fox entered the lane prior to his shot hitting the rim.
The Kings wound up defeating the Timberwolves in overtime by a final score of 133-129:
L2M (last two minute) Report says "Fox (SAC) enters the lane prior to the shot hitting the rim." Ruling = Incorrect Non-Call *It's not like we couldn't see that almost immediately after on replay* But I guess they can't overturn that which baffles me.
— John Meyer (@thedailywolf) January 28, 2020
These last two minute reports are always controversial for players, coaches and fans.
Calls get missed all the time, so Minnesota will have to chalk it up to bad luck and move on.