Bucks: The 5 greatest Milwaukee players of all time
Connect with us

The 5 greatest Milwaukee Bucks of all time

Right now, Giannis Anteotokounmpo is without a doubt the biggest name coming from the Milwaukee Bucks. He has emerged as one of the most dominant players in the game today, and what’s scary is that he’s just 25. There’s little doubt that the Greek Freak will continue dominating the league in years to come, and that by the time he calls it a career, he’s going to be up there with the all-time greats. But who is the greatest Bucks ever?

Giannis is not the only great player that has dawned the Bucks uniform, though. There have been a fair amount of players that have made their mark on this franchise, and today, we take a look back at the Top 5 greatest Milwaukee Bucks in history.

5. Ray Allen


Ray Allen is widely regarded as one of the best shooters in NBA history, and while he won his two championships with the Boston Celtics and the Miami Heat, there’s also no denying that the 6-foot-5 shooting guard had some of his best years in Milwaukee.

Allen was selected fifth overall by the Bucks in 1996, and it was here where the former UConn standout would cut his teeth. He spent the first six and a half seasons of his career in Milwaukee, being named an All-Star in three of them. In this three-year span, Allen averaged 22.0 points (on 46.5 percent shooting), 4.7 rebounds, 4.1 assists, 1.4 steals, and 2.6 triples on a 43.0-percent clip.

4. Sidney Moncrief

6-foot-3 combo guard Sidney Moncrief is likely the most unpopular player on out list. Nonetheless, he still stands out as one of the all-time great Bucks. Like Allen, Moncrief was also picked by the Bucks with their fifth pick in the 1979 NBA Draft. The Arkansas alumni is a five-time All-Star, a five-time All-NBA team member, and a five-time All-Defensive team member.

Moncrief was a defensive stalwart for the Bucks during his time, and was actually the winner of the inaugural Defensive Player of the Year award in 1983. He defended the title the following season, and went back-to-back. Moncrief is one out of only five guards to have won this prestigious award, along with Alvin Robertson, Michael Cooper, Michael Jordan, and Gary Payton.

3. Giannis Antetokounmpo

The rise of Giannis Antetokounmpo has been nothing short of spectacular. At just 24, the 6-foot-11 forward bagged the MVP award in the 2018-19 season, and is a heavy favorite to go back-to-back this year. Giannis has had an even more dominant campaign in the weird 2019-20 season, averaging 34.5 points (on 61 percent shooting), 16.0 rebounds, 6.7 assists, 1.2 steals, 1.2 blocks, and 1.7 triples per ballgame. He has also led the Bucks to a league-best 53-12 record prior to the season suspension.

Antetokounmpo still has a long way to go in his career, and it would not be surprising if he ends being the greatest Buck of all time once it is all said and done. That’s just nit yet the case today, however.

Giannis Antetokounmpo, Bucks

2. Oscar Robertson

With Giannis still on the rise, though, we have a couple of players that are able to edge him out on our list. One of them is the Big O, Oscar Robertson. It wasn’t until he was 32 that he joined the Bucks in 1970, after spending the first decade of his career with the Cincinnati Royals. Nonetheless, he made an instant impact in his first year in Milwaukee, helping the squad to win its one and only NBA championship in 1971.

Robertson would spend the final four seasons of his career in Milwaukee, before retiring in 1974. Throughout his decorated career, Robertson’s accolades include the Rookie of the Year award, 12 All-Star appearances, 11 selections to the All-NBA squad, three All-Star Game MVP titles, and one season MVP award. He was inducted to the Basketball Hall of Fame in 1980.

1. Kareem Abdul-Jabbar

While Robertson played a significant role in Milwaukee’s title-run in 1971, it was Kareem Abdul-Jabbar that led that squad to thAt historic championship. This was just in his sophomore season, and he averaged a mind-boggling 31.7 points (on 57.7 percent shooting), 16.0 rebounds, and 3.3 assists.

Abdul-Jabbar is considered by many as one of the greatest of all time, and for good reason. The Hall of Famer is a Rookie of the Year winner, 19-time All-Star, two-time scoring champ, 15-time All-NBA team member, 11-time All-Defensive team member, two-time Finals MVP, and a record six-time season MVP winner.

The only downside here for the Bucks is that they parted ways with Abdul-Jabbar after six seasons, trading him to the Los Angeles Lakers, where he would have an even more illustrious career. Kareem won one title with the Bucks and another five while with the Purple & Gold, bringing his total tally to six championships.