CSK vs RR, Brabourne Stadium. Fans and experts are speculating about Thala MS Dhoni’s retirement after this season of IPL. Chennai Super Kings have lost three of the last five games, and there is nothing for CSK to lose. On the other hand, Rajasthan Royals still have a chance to make it into the playoffs. RR must win this game, or they will be among the teams dependent on net run rate and MI’s win over DC.

The absence of Hetmyer was hurtful for RR. Their death over run rate declined heavily due to the absence of a good finisher like Hetmyer. His comeback significantly boosts RR’s batting, which is much needed. He has hit the most number of sixes in the death overs, 19.

CSK twisted the playing 11 in the last game, leaving out big names like Raydu, Uthappa, and Bravo. That was clearly an attempt to check the bench strength. Sri Lankan debutant Pathirana impressed the cricket world by picking a wicket on the first ball of his IPL career.

At Brabourne, CSK has barely won a single game in four matches. In addition, CSK is now playing with the young and inexperienced players, giving RR an excellent opportunity to dominate this vital game.

Moeen Ali holds the key to stopping the RR’s batting giants. RR has three left-handed batters in the top five. More importantly, Moeen has dismissed Jos Buttler three times in the T20s! Using his spell against Buttler and Jaiswal in the powerplay is obvious.

Devon Conway is the spine of CSK’s top order. But Ravi Aswin got him out in the WTC Final, and he can still get his wicket if he bowls in the powerplay. Shivam Dube and Moeen Ali are also vulnerable to Ravi Ashwin’s spell. Since Ashwin will be playing against his former team, a good bowling spell is expected from him.

At Brabourne Stadium:


H2H Team Stats:

RR has won three of the last five games against CSK.

Batting 1st WonBatting 2nd Won

H2H Player Stats:

MS Dhoni262349802338.31128.02
A Raydu2119405 03223.82129.81
R Uthappa1817383 02425.53123.95
J Buttler6626502166.25149.72
S Samson131219301016.08126.14
D Padikkal4415901239.75132.50
A Raydu (for CSK)7712401017.71110.71
R Gaikwad3311110055.50150.00
K Nair5510201025.50152.24
M Ali446600022.00137.50
S Hetmyer546500132.50147.73
Y Jaiswal225601028.00207.41
R Parag43250008.33100.00

DJ Bravo1212169.54
Y Chahal1414146.96
T Boult1010128.16
R Ashwin8887.93
M Ali4437.56
M Santner2218.50
P Krishna4418.94
N Saini6617.21

Venue Stats:

(Overall T20 stats)

A Raydu101020702023.00125.45
R Uthappa8819301224.13139.86
S Dube2210601153.00176.67
J Buttler2210510052.50156.72
S Samson549900224.75159.68
K Nair448401021.00133.33
D Padikkal226300131.50175.00
MS Dhoni534800048.00123.08
Y Jaiswal114100141.00141.38
M Ali223500117.50145.83
R Parag222400012.00126.32

Y Chahal22610.25
R Ashwin5547.55
P Krishna2239.38
DJ Bravo8839.54
T Boult2228.25
T Deshpande11110.00
M Choudhary22112.13

Probable Playing 11:

No changes are expected. Hetmyer is back and will be included in the playing 11.

RR: Y Jaiswal, J Buttler, S Samson (C & WK), D Padikkal, S Hetmyer, R Parag, R Ashwin, O McCoy/J Neesham, T Boult, Y Chahal, P Krishna/K Sen

Ambati Raydu, Robin Uthappa, and DJ Bravo will likely miss the game again. Some more changes may be on the way, as this is the last game for CSK in the IPL 2022.

CSK: R Gaikwad, D Conway, M Ali, N Jagadeesan, S Dube, MS Dhoni (C & WK), M Choudhary, S Singh, M Pathirana, P Solanki, M Santner

Top Fantasy Picks:

WK – S Samson, J Buttler, N Jagadeesan
Batters – D Conway, R Gaikwad, D Padikkal/S Hetmyer
AR – M Ali, R Ashwin, M Santner
Bowlers – M Pathirana, Y Chahal, T Boult

Punt picks – N Jagadeesan, M Pathirana, D Padikkal, J Neesham

Common C/VC – J Buttler, Y Chahal, M Ali, D Conway

Punt C/VC – R Ashwin, N Jagadeesan, D Padikkal, S Dube

CSK Batters vs RR Bowlers:

R Gaikwad:
vs Chahal – 3W
vs Boult – 2W

D Conway:

R Uthappa:
vs Ashwin – 7W
vs Boult – 1W
vs Chahal – 3W

Are you 1000% a sports fan?

🚨 Get viral graphics, memes, rumors and trending sports news delivered right to your inbox with the Clutch newsletter.

*Sign up now and receive your own one-of-a-kind ClutchPoints photoshop with yourself and your favorite player!

M Ali:
vs Chahal – 1W
vs Boult – 1W
vs Ashwin – 2W
vs Neesham – 1W

A Raydu:
vs Chahal – 3W
vs Ashwin – 5W
vs Boult – 1W

S Dube:
vs Neesham – 1W

MS Dhoni:
vs Chahal – 2W
vs Boult – 3W

N Jagadeesan:

RR Batters vs CSK Bowlers:

J Buttler:
vs Bravo – 3W
vs Ali – 3W
vs Pretorius – 1W

Y Jaiswal:
vs Asif – 1W

D Padikkal:
vs Santner – 1W

S Samson:
vs Bravo – 1W
vs Deshpande – 1W
vs Santner – 1W

S Hetmyer:
vs Bravo – 3W
vs Ali – 1W

Interesting Records:

  • CSK has managed to win only one game at Brabourne Stadium.
  • Moeen Ali has dismissed Jos Buttler three times in the T20s.
  • Yuzi Chahal is just two wickets away from tying the record of the most wickets by a leg spinner in the IPL season with Imran Tahir (26 wickets in 2019).
  • Spinners have performed better than the pace bowlers at Brabourne Stadium.
  • Ravi Ashwin has dismissed Robin Uthappa seven times in the T20s.
  • Sanju Samson averages only 16.08 against CSK.