IPL 2022 Final, RR vs GT, Motera Stadium, Ahmedabad. Gujarat Titans will play on their home ground for the first time in an IPL final. No one expected GT to perform this well. Clearly, Hardik Pandya has a neck for captaincy. The same goes for the Rajasthan Royals. The team was good on paper, but no one expected RR to reach the IPL 2022 final. Here we are, witnessing a new champion being made in Ahmedabad. No one deserves to play the final more than these two teams.

The Pitch: 
Usually, Ahmedabad pitches are helpful to spinners. But the last few games have shown support to pace bowlers. Prasidh Krishna and Obed McCoy are the most recent examples. This is why it will be a crucial decision for GT to pick Lockie Ferguson over Alzari Joseph. Hardik Pandya’s opening and death spell may surprise RR.

The Venue:
Teams chasing at this venue are more successful than teams batting first. GT has lost only one game while chasing this season. On the flip side, RR is among the teams that won most of their matches while batting first. But, the team winning the toss will be looking to chase or bowl first.

No Help For Spin?
In Qualifier 2, a total of five spinners were used, and they produced only two wickets in 17 overs. This shows very little support for the spinners at this venue. This is a crucial takeaway for both the teams, not to rely too much on their spinners.

Rashid Khan and Yuzvendra Chahal are the two big names that will play on this pitch. Hopefully, they will make their own way to get wickets.

To Chase or Not To Chase?
Average scores at this venue are up to high 170s, which is a respectable total to defend. If the team batting first puts a total above 180, it will be defended successfully. Beware of the GT batters; they have chased down the total scores above 190 a couple of times.

Considering the records of chasing sides on this venue, both the teams will be looking to chase after winning the toss.

Punt Picks & Tips:

  • Try to avoid spinners in this game.
  • Matthew Wade and Wriddhiman Saha are the players that like to perform on big occasions, and tonight might be their night.
  • Sanju Samson has been batting responsibly throughout the season. Tonight, all the eyes will be on Jos Buttler, but Samson may surprise us.
  • Fast bowlers are likely to perform better than spinners.

At Motera Stadium, Ahmedabad:


The Previous Games:

Qualifier 1, Eden Gardens. GT won by seven wickets. In the last over, David Killer Miller hit three consecutive sixes off Obed McCoy to put GT in the IPL 2022 Final.

J Buttler – 89(56)H Pandya – 1/14D Miller – 68(38)T Boult – 1/38
S Samson – 47(26)M Shami – 1/43H Pandya – 40(27)O McCoy – 1/40
D Padikkal – 28(20)R S Kishore – 1/43S Gill – 35(21)
R Parag – 4(3)Y Dayal – 1/46M Wade – 35(30)

April 14, DY Patil Stadium. GT won by 37 runs. Lockie Ferguson’s masterclass pace bowling saved the day for GT. Once again, Hardik Pandya and David Miller scored big.

H Pandya – 87(52)R Parag – 1/12J Buttler – 54(24)L Ferguson – 3/23
A Manohar – 43(28)Y Chahal – 1/32S Hetmyer – 29(17)Y Dayal – 3/40
D Miller – 31(14)K Sen – 1/51R Parag – 18(16)H Pandya – 1/18
S Gill – 13(14)J Neesham – 17(15)M Shami – 1/39

H2H Player Stats:

H Pandya109313023104.3179.9
D Miller8830103275.2167.2
S Gill11924601330.8124.9
V Shankar9712501120.8125.0
W Saha141210700011.9142.7
J Buttler2214302071.50178.75
S Samson225800129.00156.76
M Wade224700123.5130.6
A Manohar114300143.00153.57
S Hetmyer223300016.50137.50
D Padikkal222800014.00133.33

M Shami1111149.11
R Khan101096.18
H Pandya10669.06
L Ferguson2265.12
Y Dayal22410.75
V Shankar9629.74
P Sangwan3316.75
Y Chahal2218.00
R Parag21112.00
K Sen11112.75
T Boult1119.50
O McCoy11110.00
V Aaron11014.47

Venue Stats:

(Overall T20 stats)

J Buttler6627812069.50157.06
K Nair9817700225.29148.74
S Samson9814400220.57117.07
H Pandya648600128.67140.98
S Hetmyer4471010215.15
D Miller115401054.00180.00
S Gill225200126.00113.04
W Saha443800012.67100.00
D Padikkal333500011.67116.67
R Tewatia311000010.00100.00

Y Chahal88735.438.5025.00
P Krishna44618.337.5914.50
R Ashwin77628.337.1823.67
O McCoy1137.675.758.00
R Sai Kishore33318.004.5024.00
H Pandya66346.677.0040.00
M Shami33245.008.4432.00
P Sangwan11120.005.0024.00
R Tewatia33169.009.8642.00

Probable Playing 11:

The team management will not be making any changes to this winning combination, and no changes are required in the playing 11.

RR: J Buttler, Y Jaiswal, D Padikkal, S Samson (C & WK), S Hetmyer, R Parag, R Ashwin, T Boult, Y Chahal, P Krishna, O McCoy

Alzari Joseph has been expensive. It is high time for GT to call back Lockie Ferguson in the playing 11.

GT: S Gill, W Saha (WK), M Wade/S Sudharsan, D Miller, H Pandya (C), R Tewatia, R Khan, M Shami, L Ferguson, Y Dayal, R Sai Kishore

Fantasy Picks:

WK – W Saha, J Buttler, S Samson
Batters – D Miller, S Hetmyer/D Padikkal
AR – H Pandya, R Tewatia
Bowlers – Y Chahal/T Boult, L Ferguson, M Shami, O McCoy

Punt picks – L Ferguson, P Krishna, R Tewatia, M Wade

Common C/VC – J Buttler, H Pandya, Y Chahal, S Gill

Punt C/VC – D Miller, L Ferguson, O McCoy, S Samson

GT Batters vs RR Bowlers:

S Gill:
vs Parag – 1W
vs Y Chahal – 1W
vs Boult – 1W
vs Saini – 1W

M Wade:
vs Y Chahal – 1W
vs Boult – 3W
vs McCoy – 2W

H Pandya:
vs Chahal – 1W
vs Boult – 2W
vs Krishna – 1W

D Miller:
vs Chahal – 3W
vs Saini – 1W
vs R Ashwin – 3W

Are you 1000% a sports fan?

🚨 Get viral graphics, memes, rumors and trending sports news delivered right to your inbox with the Clutch newsletter.

*Sign up now and receive your own one-of-a-kind ClutchPoints photoshop with yourself and your favorite player!

R Tewatia:
vs Krishna – 1W

W Saha:
vs Chahal – 2W
vs Boult – 2W
vs Saini – 1W

A Manohar:
vs Chahal – 1W

V Shankar:
vs Sen – 1W
vs Boult – 1W
vs Chahal – 1W

RR Batters vs GT Bowlers:

J Buttler:
vs Ferguson – 1W
vs R Khan – 4W
vs Shami – 2W
vs Shankar – 1W

Y Jaiswal:
vs Dayal – 1W
vs R Khan – 1W

D Padikkal:
vs H Pandya – 1W
vs Dayal – 1W
vs Ferguson – 2W
vs Tewatia – 1W
vs R Khan – 1W
vs Shankar – 1W

S Samson:
vs Kishore – 1W
vs Shami – 1W
vs R Khan – 1W
vs Shankar – 1W
vs H Pandya – 1W

S Hetmyer:
vs Shami – 4W
vs R Khan – 4W
vs Ferguson – 1W

R Parag:
vs Ferguson – 1W
vs Shami – 2W

R Ashwin:
vs Ferguson – 1W
vs R Khan – 2W

Interesting Records:

  • Mohammad Shami and Rashid Khan have dismissed Shimron Hetmyer four times each.
  • Usually, Sanju Samson has trouble playing wrist spin, but he has thrown his wicket only once to Rashid Khan.
  • Rashid Khan has dismissed Jos Buttler four times in the T20s.