Qualifier 2: RCB vs RR, Ahmedabad. Royal Challengers Bangalore has high hopes from Virat Kohli since he scored a match winning knock against GT. In contrast, Rajasthan Royals must be hoping that Sanju Samson does not face Wanindu Hasaranga tonight. It is yet to see how the pitch will unfold its nature, but hopefully spinners will get their way to bamboozle batters.

All the luck is on the side of RCB. Afterall, Karn Sharma is in the squad! It is a very straight forward strategy for RCB. Score as much as they can. Only problem with RCB’s bowling is Mohammad Siraj. He has been leaking runs throughout the tournament, but there is no better replacement for him. Other bowlers are doing as per their reputation.

Jos Buttler is the only RR batter who has good stats and matchups against RCB. But his last half of the tournament hasn’t been impressive as first half. If RR get to bat first, Buttler and Hetmyer are the only two dependable batters, Ashwin may come in handy as well. All the other batters have poor stats or poor matchups.

On the bowling side of RR, Yuzi Chahal has been hard to read for RCB batters. Afterall, Chahal know them all very well. Ravi Ashwin will become lethal if the pitch starts turning. It is very hot summer in Gujarat. Pitch may be dry and start spinning.

RCB and RR are the teams with the best spin bowling attack. RR’s spinners have picked 38 wickets and RCB’s spinners have picked 35 wickets in the IPL 2022.

The venue of Ahmedabad has been very supportive of chasing side. The teams batting second have won 11 games, while the teams batting first have won only six game since 2021.

At Ahmedabad:

RCB vs RR at Ahmedabad:

Matches – 1
RCB won – 1
RR won – 0


H2H Team Stats:

Last six H2H match results – RCB 5/1 RR

Batting 1st WonBatting 2nd Won

IPL 2022 League Match Performace:

5 April 2022. RCB won by 4-wickets. Despite losing early wickets of Virat and Maxwell, RCB bounced back and won the game by four wickets in hand. Shahbaz Ahmed and Dinesh Karthik players the role of finishers, which exactly what RCB

J Buttler – 70(47)H Patel – 1/18S Ahmed – 45(26)Y Chahal – 2/15
S Hetmyer – 42(31)D Willey – 1/29D Karthik – 44(23)T Boult – 2/34
D Padikkal – 37(29)W Hasaranga – 1/32F Plessis – 29(20)N Saini – 1/36
S Samson – 8(8)A Rawat – 26(25)

26 April 2022. RR won by 29 runs. Ravi Ashwin and Kuldeep Sen demolished the RCB batting lineup and ended the batting at the total on just 105.

R Parag – 56(31)J Hazlewood – 2/19F Plessis – 23(21)K Sen – 4/20
S Samson – 27(21)W Hasaranga – 2/23W Hasaranga – 18(13)R Ashwin – 3/17
R Ashwin – 17(9)M Siraj – 2/30S Ahmed – 17(27)P Krishna – 2/23
D Mitchell – 16(24)H Patel – 1/33R Patidar – 16(16)

H2H Player Stats:

D Karthik312762503432.89134.99
V Kohli262559304328.24115.82
Faf du Plessis121234702228.92132.95
S Samson (vs RCB)191833402019.65139.17
J Buttler (vs RCB)121231002131.00140.27
S Samson (for RR)151429502022.69147.50
G Maxwell (vs RR)121124802131.00165.33
K Nair121123202025.78120.83
J Buttler (for RR)7721402035.67135.44
S Hetmyer (vs RCB)5513801169.00150.00
R Parag7410601035.33130.86
S Ahmed526201131.00116.98
G Maxwell (for RCB)325001050.00161.29
D Padikkal224400122.00122.22
Y Jaiswal223500017.50125.00
A Rawat112600026.00104.00
R Patidar111600016.00100.00

R Ashwin2424216.97
H Patel98157.45
T Boult99138.29
M Siraj6677.65
S Kaul7777.94
P Krishna8859.25
K Sen1145.71
Y Chahal (vs RCB)3344.27
W Hasaranga2236.88
J Hazlewood3337.67
S Ahmed5329.00
D Willey2229.50
N Saini11112.00
G Maxwell126110.67
R Parag74112.95

Venue Stats:

  • This is a completely new venue. So, past records may not be as relevant.
  • In the Test matches played here, spin bowlers have dominated the batters.

(Overall T20 Stats)

V Kohli9936704173.40135.93
D Karthik121120000125.00120.48
K Nair9817700225.29148.74
J Buttler5517202043.00147.01
S Samson8712100220.17118.63
M Lomror228101081.00192.86
S Hetmyer3369010230.00
R Patidar226200231.00119.23
D Padikkal333500011.67116.67
H Patel313100131.00238.46
G Maxwell33260008.6796.30

Y Chahal77729.008.0721.57
R Ashwin66527.807.0723.60
S Kaul33420.007.2716.50
H Patel33428.259.4218.00
P Krishna33329.338.3821.00
S Ahmed11111.005.5012.00
K Sharma11120.005.0024.00

Probable Playing 11:

There is no update on Harshal Patel’s injury and availability.

RCB: F Plessis (C), V Kohli, R Patidar, G Maxwell, M Lomror, D Karthik (WK), W Hasaranga, J Hazlewood,  S Ahmed, H Patel, M Siraj,

Darly Mitchell has left the RR camp to join national team. Kuldeep Sen may replace Prasidh Krishna, due to his poor form in last few games.

RR: Y Jaiswal, J Buttler, D Padikkal, S Samson (C & WK), S Hetmyer, R Parag, R Ashwin, T Boult, Y Chahal, P Krishna, O McCoy

Fantasy Picks:

  • Sanju Samson has been troubled by the leg spinners of RCB in the past. It was Yuzi Chahal for RCB in the past, but now it is Wanindu Hasaranga. He dismissed Samson five times in the T20s! A good player to drop in your fantasy team.
  • Glenn Maxwell is the weak point for RCB, if you believe it or not. His performances in the IPL playoffs are not good. Also, his venue and head-to-head matchups are looking not so good.

WK – D Karthik, J Buttler
Batters – V Kohli/M Lomror, F Plessis, R Patidar
AR – R Ashwin, S Ahmed/G Maxwell
Bowlers – W Hasaranga, Y Chahal, T Boult, J Hazlewood

Punt picks – M Lomror, S Ahmed, S Hetmyer, O McCoy

Common C/VC – J Buttler, Y Chahal, V Kohli, G Maxwell

Punt C/VC – R Patidar, W Hasaranga, R Ashwin, S Hetmyer

RR Batters vs RCB Bowlers:

J Buttler:
vs Hazlewood – 1W
vs D Willey – 1W
vs M Siraj – 1W

Are you 1000% a sports fan?

🚨 Get viral graphics, memes, rumors and trending sports news delivered right to your inbox with the Clutch newsletter.

*Sign up now and receive your own one-of-a-kind ClutchPoints photoshop with yourself and your favorite player!

Y Jaiswal:

S Samson:
vs Hasaranga – 5W
vs M Siraj – 2W
vs H Patel – 1W
vs S Ahmed – 1W

D Padikkal:
vs Hasaranga – 1W
vs H Patel – 1W
vs M Siraj – 1W

S Hetmyer:
vs Hasaranga – 1W
vs M Siraj – 1W
vs D Willey – 1W
vs Hazlewood – 1W

R Parag:
vs H Patel – 2W

RCB Batters vs RR Bowlers:

V Kohli:
vs T Boult – 0W
vs P Krishna – 2W
vs R Ashwin – 1W

Faf du Plessis:
vs Boult – 3W
vs P Krishna – 1W
vs Chahal – 2W
vs R Ashwin – 3W

R Patidar:
vs R Ashwin – 1W
vs Boult – 1W

G Maxwell:
vs Chahal – 5W
vs R Ashwin – 2W
vs Boult – 2W

D Karthik:
vs T Boult – 1W
vs N Saini – 1W
vs Y Chahal – 3W
vs R Ashwin – 1W

S Ahmed:
vs T Boult – 1W

H Patel:
vs T Boult – 1W
vs N Saini – 1W

Interesting Records:

  • Wanindu Hasaranga dismissed Sanju Samson five times in the T20s.
  • Harshal Patel has bowled the most dot ball in the death overs in IPL 2022.
  • Yuzvendra Chahal has dismissed Glenn Maxwell five times in the T20s.
  • Yashaswi Jaiswal is yet to be dismissed by current any of the RCB bowlers.