Connect with us


WR Laquon Treadwell leads Minnesota inactives against Saints in Wild Card


The Minnesota Vikings announced their inactives for Sunday’s Wild Card matchup with the New Orleans Saints.

Wide receiver Laquon Treadwell, cornerback Mackensie Alexander, defensive tackle Hercules Mata’afa, defensive end Eddie Yarbrough, offensive guard Dru Samia, offensive tackle Oli Udoh and offensive tackle Aviante Collins will not play in the postseason tilt.

Treadwell is a healthy scratch and an interesting one at that. The 2016 first-round pick has acted as a clutch third-down receiver for the Vikings as of late, tallying nine receptions for 184 yards and a touchdown on the year.

Rookie Bisi Johnson will be the Vikings’ third receiver against New Orleans, with Stefon Diggs and Adam Thielen expected to see the bulk of the targets. Minnesota also has Alexander Hollins eligible to play.

Alexander, the Vikings’ starting nickel cornerback, will not play after not practicing all week due to a knee injury. With him and Mike Hughes (injured reserve) out, Minnesota will utilize Xavier Rhodes, Trae Waynes, Holton Hill, Kris Boyd and Marcus Sherels as their cornerbacks against the Drew Brees-led offense.

The Vikings caught a big break with defensive end Ifeadi Odenigbo. After practicing as a limited participant all week and earning a questionable designation, Odenigbo will play against the Saints. He tallied seven sacks on the season.

On the other side of the ball, the Saints announced that cornerback Eli Apple, safety D.J. Swearinger, offensive lineman Ethan Greenidge, fullback Zach Line, defensive end Noah Spence, linebacker Manti Te’o and center Will Clapp all would not play against the Vikings.