Celtics: Every retired jersey number in Boston franchise history
Connect with us

Boston Celtics’ retired numbers

When you have 17 championships in franchise history and over 3,400 wins in the regular season, you are bound to have a ton of people to thank. That’s why the Boston Celtics have retired a staggering 22 numbers in franchise history.

For this piece, we take a look at all 22 numbers that are forever etched in Celtics history:

No. 00 Robert Parish

In 14 seasons with the Celtics, Parish averaged 16.5 points and 10.0 rebounds per game. The Hall of Famer made nine All-Star teams and won four championships.

No. 1 Walter Brown

The Celtics retired this number to honor Walter Brown and his service as team founder. Brown passed away in 1964 due to a heart attack.

No. 2 Red Auerbach

Red won 795 regular-season games with the Celtics. That’s the most in franchise history by a wide margin for a head coach.

Auerbach also won 90 postseason games and nine titles with Boston. The Celtics retired the No. 2 to honor Red and his service as the best coach in franchise history.

No. 3 Dennis Johnson

In seven seasons with the Celtics, Johnson put up 12.6 points and 6.4 assists. He won two championships with Boston.

A five-time All-Star, Johnson was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2010.

No. 6 Bill Russell

Russell’s tenure with the Celtics is the stuff of legends. He won 11 titles and five MVP awards.

The Hall of Famer averaged 15.1 points and 22.5 rebounds per game in 963 contests with Boston.

Bill Russell, Celtics


No. 10 Jo Jo White

In 717 games with the Celtics, White put up 18.4 points. He won two championships in Beantown and was the 1976 Finals MVP.

White was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2015.

No. 14 Bob Cousy

Cousy played in 917 games with the Celtics. He averaged 18.5 points, 5.2 rebounds and 7.6 assists while making 13 All-Star teams.

The Hall of Famer won six championships with Boston and one regular-season MVP.

No. 15 Tom Heinsohn

“Tommy Gun” spent his entire Hall of Fame career with the Celtics. He put up 18.6 points, 8.8 rebounds and 2.0 assists in 654 games.

Heinsohn won eight titles with Boston and was the 1957 Rookie of the Year.

No. 16 Tom Sanders

An eight-time champion, Sanders averaged 9.6 points, 6.3 boards and 1.1 assists in 916 games with the Celtics. He was named a Hall of Famer in 2011 as a contributor.

No. 17 John Havlicek

One of the greatest players in basketball history, Havlicek put up 20.8 points, 6.3 rebounds and 4.8 assists in 1,270 games with the Celtics.

“Hondo” won eight rings with Boston and was the 1974 Finals MVP.

John Havlicek, Celtics

No. 18 Dave Cowens

In 726 games with the Celtics, Cowens averaged 18.2 points and 14.0 rebounds. He won the 1971 Rookie of the Year Award and the 1973 MVP trophy.

Cowens also captured two rings with Boston.

No. 19 Don Nelson

Nelson played 11 seasons with the Celtics. He put up 11.4 points and 5.2 rebounds in 872 games.

“Nellie” won five championships with Boston and made the Hall of Fame in 2012 as a head coach.

No. 21 Bill Sharman

Sharman appeared in 680 games for the Celtics and averaged 18.1 points. He also won four championships during his time in Boston.

No. 22 Ed Macauley

Macauley averaged 18.9 points and 8.1 rebounds over 416 games with the Celtics. He won one championship in 1958.

Ed made the Hall of Fame in 1960.

No. 23 Frank Ramsey

In 623 games with the Celtics, Ramsey put up 13.4 points and 5.5 rebounds. He missed the entire 1955-56 season because of military service in the U.S. army.

Ramsey won seven championships with Boston and was named a Hall of Famer in 1982.

No. 24 Sam Jones

Jones played his entire career with the Celtics. He averaged 17.7 points and won 10 championships.

A five-time All-Star, Jones got into the Hall of Fame in 1984.

No. 25 K.C. Jones

An eight-time champion, Jones averaged 7.4 points, 3.5 rebounds and 4.3 assists in 676 games with the Celtics. The point guard made the Hall of Fame in 1989.

No. 31 Cedric Maxwell

Maxwell put up 13.7 points and 6.6 rebounds in 607 games with the Celtics. He was a two-time champion and the 1980 Finals MVP.

No. 32 Kevin McHale

McHale played in 971 games with the Celtics. He averaged 17.9 points and 7.3 rebounds while making seven All-Star teams and winning three championships.

The two-time Sixth Man of the Year Award winner made the Hall of Fame in 1999.

No. 33 Larry Bird

“Larry Legend” is arguably the best player in franchise history. He averaged 24.3 points, 10.0 rebounds and 6.3 assists in 897 games with the Celtics.

Bird won three championships, two Finals MVPs and three regular-season MVPs. He was named a Hall of Famer in 1998.

No. 34 Paul Pierce

“The Truth” won the 2008 Finals MVP after the Celtics defeated the Los Angeles Lakers. Pierce finished his Boston career with averages of 21.8 points per game.

A 10-time All-Star, Pierce will be a first-ballot Hall of Famer one day.

Celtics, Paul Pierce, Lakers


No. 35 Reggie Lewis

Lewis played in 450 games with the Celtics.

He put up 17.6 points, 4.3 rebounds and 2.6 assists and made one All-Star team.