Nothing like a little referee drama to spice up an instant classic rivalry matchup. The Final Four game between Duke and UNC was going down to the wire, with the Tar Heels leading by three points with less than a minute left. Suddenly, a foul was called on Duke’s Trevor Keels as he was going up for the shot. And-one opportunity… or so we thought.

The referees immediately waved off Keels’ made basket, saying that there was no continuation on the play. Keels proceeded to miss one of the two free-throws awarded to him, and UNC would go on to knock out their fierce rivals in the Final Four.

After the game, many NBA stars reacted to the supposed “and-1” call. One of these guys was Grizzlies star Ja Morant, who was tuning in to the Final Four game from his home.

One of Morant’s teammates was also tuning in to the Final Four: Desmond Bane, who had some harsh words for the officiating crew.

Live and breathe the NBA?

🚨 Get viral NBA graphics, memes, rumors and trending news delivered right to your inbox with the Clutch Newsletter.

Other NBA players would chime in and ask the same question Morant did.

New college basketball viewers watching this Final Four game might be confused as to why it’s an and-1. In most other leagues, Keels’ bucket would be considered part of his motion, and the basket would be counted. However, the NCAA’s “continuation” rules vary greatly from other leagues such as the NBA. It’s technically the right call, according to the college basketball rulebook.

Duke – UNC absolutely lived up to the expectations everyone had, as people were hyped for this Final Four game. However, questionable officiating littered the game. Ticky-tacky fouls were called on both teams, as no one really benefited from the whistle. Unfortunately, Duke couldn’t make the free-throws that mattered, and they bowed out of the tournament.