Connect with us

Dallas Mavericks’ retired numbers

As it stands, the Dallas Mavericks have only retired four numbers in franchise history. However, that number figures to rise in the next few years once Mavs boss Mark Cuban starts taking care of the key guys from the 2011 championship team that won it all over the Miami Heat.

Led by franchise icon and future Hall of Famer Dirk Nowitzki, the underdog Mavs took down LeBron James, Dwyane Wade, Chris Bosh and the Heat in the 2011 Finals for the franchise’s first and lone NBA title.

For now, let’s take a look at the three numbers that are currently hanging in the rafters at the American Airlines Center in downtown Dallas, Texas. The fourth number that is retired by the Mavs has yet to be raised to the rafters.

No. 12 Derek Harper

In 12 seasons with the Mavs, Derek Harper averaged 14.4 points, 5.9 assists and 1.8 steals in 872 games while shooting 46.9 percent from the field. He’s one of the best point guards in franchise history.

Harper is currently Dallas’ television analyst. He’s been in the role with Fox Sports since 2005. Harper is also the franchise leader in assists with 5,111 and steals with 1,551.

No. 15 Brad Davis

Brad Davis appeared in 883 games with the Mavs. He finished his Dallas career with solid averages of 8.6 points and 5.1 assists over 12 seasons.

Davis does radio for the Mavs at the moment. He is seventh in franchise history in points scored with 7,623

No. 22 Rolando Blackman

A four-time All-Star, Rolando Blackman averaged 19.2 points, 3.6 boards and 3.2 assists in 865 games with the Mavs. The shooting guard played 11 seasons in Dallas.

Blackman scored 16,643 points with the Mavs. He’s second in franchise history in points behind Nowitzki.

No. 24 Kobe Bryant

Mark Cuban said the franchise was retiring No. 24 to honor Los Angeles Lakers legend Kobe Bryant, who tragically passed away in a helicopter crash in January of 2020.

“Our organization has decided that the number 24 will never again be worn by a Dallas Maverick,” the Mavs boss said in a statement in January, a day after Kobe’s tragic passing.

Bryant won five titles with the Lakers and two Finals MVPs. He is one of the greatest players in NBA history.