The Atlanta Falcons have been to a pair of Super Bowls, though the always dangerous NFC South franchise has unfortunately never managed to capture a title. Originally breaking into the NFL all the way back in 1966, just ahead of the 1970 merger, the Falcons have reached the postseason 14 times—including as a result of six of the last 12 seasons.

Never an easy out whether the team is surging or struggling, the Falcons always seem to be hanging around despite playing in the incredibly competitive NFC South division, which should prove to be one of the toughest groups in the entire NFL come 2020-21. Even without a Super Bowl title on the team's résumé as a pair of NFC Championships currently highlight Atlanta's legacy, this organization remains one of the most relevant in the league on an annual basis.

5. Jerry Glanville

Jerry Glanville became the head coach of the Atlanta Falcons in 1991 and would go on to spend a total of four seasons at the helm for the NFC South franchise. Although Glanville wouldn't lead a team with a winning record for the last three seasons of his Falcons tenure, he got off to a hot start en route to leading Atlanta to the postseason in his first go-round along the sideline.

Winning his postseason debut for the Falcons, Atlanta notably defeated an arch rival in the New Orleans Saints in the wild card round, 27-20, in 1991-92. It is also worth noting that although Glanville didn't have a ton of success with the Falcons, he did help the franchise turn the corner as Atlanta hadn't reached the postseason since losing Leeman Bennett in 1982-83.

4. Leeman Bennett

After years—and even decades—of struggling mightily, the Atlanta Falcons hired Leeman Bennett as the franchise's fifth head coach ever in 1977.

With Bennett taking over with the Falcons in search of the team's first ever postseason appearance, it didn't take the memorable leader along the sideline very long to accomplish such a feat. In just Bennett's second season at the helm in Atlanta, he led the Falcons to the postseason and even playoff win as his team narrowly defeated the Philadelphia Eagles, 14-13, in the wild card round.

Bennett would only last a handful of seasons in Atlanta, though he led the Falcons to the postseason three times during that span. He only won his first postseason game, though, as the Falcons would then lose three straight come playoff time.

3. Mike Smith

It can be argued the the Mike Smith era was the catalyst and origin for the recent run of success that the Falcons have encountered. Serving as the team's head coach between 2008-14. In his first season as the Falcons head coach, Smith led the Falcons postseason berth while also earning Coach of the Year honors alongside quarterback Matt Ryan becoming the league's Offensive Rookie of the Year.

Leading the Falcons to the postseason in three of his first four seasons with the team, Smith just couldn't win a playoff game en route to starting out a winless 0-3 across those three appearances. However, in 2012-13, Smith finally got things going in a positive direction while leading the 13-3 Falcons to the NFC Championship Game, which was preceded by a postseason win over the Seattle Seahawks—the first of Smith's Atlanta tenure.

He would lead the team to four postseason appearances in five years to begin his eight-year career as the Falcons head coach before Smith was unable to reach the playoffs in his final three go-rounds.

2. Dan Quinn

Even though current Atlanta Falcons head coach Dan Quinn presently finds himself on the hot seat after a few less than stellar seasons, he is still one of the best the organization has ever hired in this role.

Now gearing up for his sixth season as the team's head coach, Quinn followed up an 8-8 first season in Atlanta with a trip to the Super Bowl in his second. In his first trip to the playoffs as the Falcons' head coach, Quinn first led Atlanta to an 11-5 regular season record before winning back-to-back postseason games against the Seattle Seahawks and Green Bay Packers, respectively. Unfortunately for Quinn and company, though, the Falcons blew a now infamous 28-3 lead in the Super Bowl at the hands of the heralded New England Patriots. Inches away from the team's first ever Super Bowl title with the team being led by the league's Offensive Player of the Year and MVP in veteran quarterback Matt Ryan, the Falcons coming up just short against the Patriots in overtime seemed to set the franchise back a bit both on and off the field.

Since that occurrence back in 2016-17, the Falcons have reached the playoffs only once, which came the following year. Atlanta split a pair of postseason games as a result of such a trip while ultimately losing to the eventual Super Bowl champion Philadelphia Eagles in the divisional round.

1. Dan Reeves

The legend that is Dan Reeves served as the head coach of the Atlanta Falcons from 1997-2003 while remaining in such a role for parts of seven seasons. Reaching the postseason on two separate occasions during his lengthy stay in Atlanta, Reeves most notably led the Falcons to the franchise's first ever NFC Championship Game and trip to the Super Bowl. However, Reeves and company were immediately met by soon-to-be Pro Football Hall of Fame quarterback John Elway and the surging Denver Broncos in the Super Bowl in 1998-99.

Earning Coach of the Year honors as a result of this same season, Reeves' 14-2 Falcons initially defeated the San Francisco 49ers before edging out the Minnesota Vikings in overtime to kickoff quite a memorable postseason run. Helping to legitimatize the Falcons with Atlanta finally reaching a Super Bowl, Reeves certainly played a major part in jumpstarting the franchise in a big way even though he would only win one more postseason game during this stint as a NFL head coach.