Connect with us

Hall of Fame Class of 2016 Presenters Announced

This weekend, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame will welcome 10 basketball greats into its ranks, including former NBA MVP Allen Iverson, five-time national champion Shaquille O’Neal, eight-time All-Star Yao Ming, and four-time WNBA champion Sheryl Swoopes.

The names of the Hall of Fame presenters for the inductees were announced on Tuesday afternoon. Each inductee was asked to choose at least one previous inductee to present them.

The list as is follows:

  • Zelmo Beaty (player), presented by Lenny Wilkens (’89, ’98, ’10)
  • Darell Garretson (referee), presented by David Stern (’14)
  • Allen Iverson (player), presented by Larry Brown (’02), Julius Erving (’93), John Thompson (’99)
  • Tom Izzo (head coach), presented by Gary Williams (’14)
  • John McLendon (head coach), presented by Wayne Embry (’99), Sam Jones (’84), Isiah Thomas (’00), John Thompson (’99)
  • Shaquille O’Neal (player), presented by Julius Erving (’93), Alonzo Mourning (’14), Bill Russell (’75), Isiah Thomas (’00),
  • Cumberland Posey (player), presented by Earl Monroe (’90)
  • Jerry Reinsdorf (owner), presented by Phil Jackson (’07), Scottie Pippen (’10)
  • Sheryl Swoopes (player), presented by Van Chancellor (’07), Nancy Lieberman (’96)
  • Yao Ming (player), presented by Dikembe Mutombo (’15), Bill Russell (’75), Bill Walton (’93)
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *