Connect with us

5 greatest Sacramento Kings teams in franchise history

Since joining the NBA in 1948, the Sacramento Kings franchise has compiled a record of 2,590-3,089. The organization has appeared in the playoffs 29 times and captured one title. That came back in 1951 when the Rochester Royals defeated the New York Knicks in seven games.

For this piece, we’ll be taking a look back at the five best Kings teams in franchise history.

5. 2000-01 Kings

Sacramento won 55 games in the regular season and had the best offense in the league. The team averaged 101.7 points per game.

Chris Webber led the way with averages of 27.1 points and 11.1 boards. Sharpshooter Peja Stojaković was an excellent second option. He put up 20.4 points while shooting 40.0 percent from beyond the arc.

The Kings defeated the Phoenix Suns in the first round of the 2001 playoffs in four games, winning the best of five series 3-1.

Unfortunately, Sacramento got swept by the Los Angeles Lakers in the second round.

4. 2003-04 Kings

This team captured 55 wins and finished the regular season with the second-best offense. Sacramento put up 102.8 points per game.

The Dallas Mavericks were the Kings’ first-round opponent in the 2004 playoffs. Sacramento won the series in five games, with Mike Bibby averaging 23.6 points, 4.6 assists and 3.6 rebounds in the series.

Kevin Garnett and the Minnesota Timberwolves were up next for Sacramento. It was an epic series which went seven games. The Timberwolves wound up coming out victorious.

3. 2002-03 Kings

A whopping 59 wins for this particular Rick Adelman-coached team. They averaged 101.7 points a night, good for third in the NBA.

Sacramento took care of business against the Utah Jazz in the first round of the 2003 playoffs in five games. The Mavs were up next for the Kings.

Dallas beat Sacramento in seven tough games in the second round.

2. 2001-02 Kings

Sacramento won 61 games in the regular season and looked primed for a championship run.

The team took out the Jazz and Mavs in the first and second round of the 2002 playoffs, respectively.

The Lakers and Kings had a sensational 2002 Western Conference Finals series, one which saw Los Angeles prevail in seven games.

1. 1950-51 Rochester Royals

This is the lone team in franchise history that has won a championship.

The Royals’ 1950-51 team was coached by Les Harrison. The roster was led in scoring by Arnie Risen. He averaged 16.3 points per game.

Rochester began the 1951 playoffs by eliminating the Detroit Pistons in the Western Division Semifinals. There was no first-round of the postseason at this time.

The Western Division Finals saw the Royals and Lakers go head-to-head. Rochester won this series in four games.

The Royals defeated the Knicks in the 1951 NBA Finals behind Risen, who probably would have been named Finals MVP if that award was given back in the day. He averaged 21.7 points, 14.3 rebounds and 2.7 assists in the seven-game series.