Connect with us

Everyone who lost or gained inches due to height rule change


Players like Kevin Durant have been speculated to be in between 6’9″ and 7’0″ but this year, in an effort to emphasize “the integrity of information” the NBA is cracking down and requiring teams to submit official heights (as well as correct ages) for every player on the roster.

This rule change likely in part, is a result of the incorrect age submitted by the Sacramento Kings of their star shooting guard Buddy Hield in December of 2018.

Interestingly, these measurements are of player’s heights without their shoes and are rounded to the nearest inch. Since the players don’t play without shoes, many of the NBA’s players have lost some height on their official records.

The submission of player heights has never been this closely regulated and for some players, their height has changed since they entered the NBA. Nonetheless, these new measurements will be presented as official heights across the league. As of October 18, here are the players who have had their official height changed.

Atlanta Hawks:

John Colins: from 6’10” to 6’9″

De’Andre Hunter: from 6’7″ to 6’8″


Boston Celtics:

Kemba Walker: from 6’1″ to 6’0″

Tacko Fall: from 7’7″ to 7’5″

Gordon Hayward: from 6’8″ to 6’7″

Jaylen Brown: from 6’7″ to 6’6″

Robert Williams: from 6’10” to 6’8″

Marcus Smart: from 6’4″ to 6’3″

Romeo Langford: from 6’6″ to 6’4″

Grant Williams: from 6’7″ to 6’6″

Carsen Edwards: from 6’1″ to 5’11”

Enes Kanter: from 6’11” to 6’10”

Brad Wanamaker: from 6’4″ to 6’3″

Semi Ojeleye: from 6’7″ to 6’8″


Brooklyn Nets:

Kyrie Irving: from 6’3″ to 6’2″

Kevin Durant: from 6’9″ to 6’10”

Theo Pinson: from 6’6″ to 6’5″

Taurean Prince: from 6’8″ to 6’7″

Henry Ellenson: from 6’11” to 6’10”

Spencer Dinwiddie: from 6’6″ to 6’5″

Garrett Temple: from 6’6″ to 6’5″

Caris LeVert: from 6’7″ to 6’6″


Charlotte Hornets:

No reported changes


Chicago Bulls:

No reported changes


Cleveland Cavaliers:

No reported changes


Dallas Mavericks:

Luka Doncic: from 6’7″ to 6’6″

Kristaps Porzingis: from 7’2″ to 7’3″

JJ Barea: from 6’0″ to 5’10”

Dorian Finney-Smith: from 6’8″ to 6’7″

Boban Marjanovic: from 7’3″ to 7’4″


Denver Nuggets:

No reported changes


Detroit Pistons:

Derrick Rose: from 6’3″ to 6’1″


Golden State Warriors:

Draymond Green: from 6’7″ to 6’5″

Klay Thompson: from 6’7″ to 6’5″


Houston Rockets:

PJ Tucker: from 6’6″ to 6’5″


Indiana Pacers:

No reported changes


Los Angeles Clippers:

No reported changes


Los Angeles Lakers:

Dwight Howard: from 6’11” to 6’9″

Anthony Davis: from 6’11” to 6’10”


Memphis Grizzlies:

No reported changes


Miami Heat:

Jimmy Butler: from 6’8″ to 6’7″

Bam Adebayo: from 6’10” to 6’9″

Justice Winslow: from 6’7″ to 6’6″

Dion Waiters: from 6’4″ to 6’3″


Milwaukee Bucks:

No reported changes


Minnesota Timberwolves: 

No reported changes


New Orleans Pelicans:

Zion Williamson: from 6’7″ to 6’6″


New York Knicks:

Kevin Knox: from 6’8″ to 6’7″

Taj Gibson: from 6’9″ to 6’10”

Frank Ntilkina: from 6’6″ to 6’5″

Mitchell Robinson: from 7’1″ to 7’0″


Oklahoma City Thunder:

No reported changes


Orlando Magic:

No reported changes


Philadelphia 76ers:

Tobias Harris: from 6’9″ to 6’7″

Joel Embiid: from 7’0″ to 6’11”

Josh Richardson: from 6’6″ to 6’5″

Al Horford: from 6’10” to 6’9″

Zhaire Smith: from 6’4″ to 6’3″

Ben Simmons: from 6’10” to 6’9″

Haywood Highsmith: from 6’7″ to 6’4″

Kyle O’Quinn: from 6’10” to 6’9″

James Ennis III: from 6’7″ to 6’6″

Norvel Pelle: from 6’11” to 6’10”

Shake Milton: from 6’6″ to 6’5″


Phoenix Suns:

No reported changes


Portland Trailblazers: 

No reported changes


Sacramento Kings: 

No reported changes


San Antonio Spurs:

No reported changes


Toronto Raptors: 

No reported changes


Utah Jazz:

No reported changes


Washington Wizards:

Isaiah Thomas: from 5’9″ to 5’8″

Bradley Beal: from 6’5″ to 6’3″