NBA rules that Buddy Hield’s game-winner was legit
According to the NBA Officiating Last Two Minute Report, the game-winning shot by Buddy Hield of the Sacramento Kings over the Detroit Pistons is legit, and no dribble violation occurred.
Hield hit a three-pointer off a set inbound play which lifted the Kings past the Pistons, 103-101. As observed in the clip below, Hield seemed incurred a double-dribble violation. The play attracted immediate criticism, especially from Pistons fans who strongly believed that the whistle should’ve been blown right before Hield threw up the shot.
It just gets better with every angle 🎥😱 pic.twitter.com/bOHfCYt2eI
— Sacramento Kings (@SacramentoKings) January 20, 2019
However, the two-minute report explained that there was no violation and therefore, Hield’s game-winning three-pointer is legitimate:
“Hield (SAC) fumbles the inbound pass and subsequently bats the ball to the floor as he attempts to gain control. He picks up the ball with both hands thereafter, establishing full control, and legally takes one dribble prior to the start of his upward shooting motion.”
Hield finished with 35 points, nine rebounds, and an impressive 7-of-9 from downtown. Teammates De’Aaron Fox and Marvin Bagley III chipped in 14 points apiece, while center Willie Cauley-Stein added 12 points. The Kings will continue their road trip in New York as they duel with the Brooklyn Nets on Monday.
The Pistons, meanwhile, got a 38-point performance from Blake Griffin while Luke Kennard added 19 points. They will start their three-game road trip on Monday against the Washington Wizards.