Quantcast
Connect with us

NBA

NBA Referees on reason Lakers’ Lance Stephenson wasn’t hit with penalty for elbow to Clippers’ Boban Marjanovic

lance stephenson, boban marjanovic

L.A. Clippers’ center Boban Marjanovic took a hard shot to the face from Los Angeles Lakers’ guard Lance Stephenson. It was a play that wasn’t considered dirty but certainly appeared to warrant a review as well as a reversal into an offensive foul on Stephenson for elbowing Marjanovic in the face.

After video replay on their own monitors, however, the NBA’s referees officially decided that there wasn’t enough contact from Stephenson in order to reverse the call and give the Clippers the ball on an offensive foul

“The on-court ruling was a defensive foul and there was no additional contact,” said lead official John Goble after the game.

No additional contact, huh? Good luck explaining that one. The NBA’s Last 2 Minute report, which will come out sometime Friday afternoon, will shed more light on what should or shouldn’t have been called during the play. In all likelihood, it will say that the call should’ve been reversed, wiping away Stephenson’s basket and giving the ball to the Clippers down two points.

The Lakers will now head out on their usual, five-game Grammy road trip which will feature games against the Golden State Warriors, Indiana Pacers, Boston Celtics, Philadelphia 76ers, and the Atlanta Hawks.

The Clippers will also travel on their six-game Grammy road trip, taking on the Detroit Pistons, Toronto Raptors, Charlotte Hornets, Indiana Pacers, Boston Celtics, and Minnesota Timberwolves.