Connect with us

Everything you need to know about Super Bowl LV: date, time, location and more

Super Bowl LV

After expanding the league’s postseason format to include 14 teams in all with seven franchises representing the AFC and another seven ultimately coming out of the NFC, the NFL now officially has only two teams remaining in the mix for a title in Super Bowl LV.

With the Tampa Bay Buccaneers initially defeating the top-seeded Green Bay Packers on Sunday afternoon, it was then the defending champion Kansas City Chiefs that rounded out the looming matchup and formally punched its ticket to yet another Super Bowl LV.

Following up the Buccaneers’ impressive performance on the road against the heralded Packers at the famed Lambeau Field, the Chiefs took down the surging Buffalo Bills at Arrowhead Stadium en route to capturing a second straight AFC Championship in front of the hometown crowd in Kansas City. Super Bowl LV is set.

Although next weekend will only feature this season’s reformatted Pro Bowl festivities as Super Bowl LV will have to wait until early February, the NFC champion Buccaneers and two-time defending AFC champion Chiefs will no doubt immediately begin preparing for arguably the biggest sports event of the year.

When is Super Bowl LV?

With Sunday’s AFC and NFC title games now having come and gone, a slate that followed both the wild card and divisional rounds, NFL fans will unfortunately be forced to wait an extra week to watch the Tampa Bay Buccaneers take on the defending champion Kansas City Chiefs in Super Bowl LV.

With Super Bowl LV scheduled to take place on Sunday, February 7 at 6:30 p.m. Eastern Time on CBS, next weekend will give both franchises an additional week to prepare for one another before ultimately clashing early next month. While the Pro Bowl in either Honolulu, Hawaii or Orlando, Florida typically takes place between the AFC and NFC Championship Games and the Super Bowl, this year’s version of the event will still fill the void between the two — though things will look a bit different due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic.

Where is Super Bowl LV?

Super Bowl LV will be quite unique in more ways than one, which perfectly aligns with the unconventional NFL campaign that will be concluding come Sunday, February 7. Tampa Bay’s Raymond James Stadium will play host to Super Bow LV while typically serving as the home stadium of the recently-crowned NFC Champion Tampa Bay Buccaneers.

Because of the “coronavirus” pandemic, the upcoming Super Bowl LV battle between the Buccaneers and Kansas City Chiefs will feature 22,000 fans in a stadium that holds approximately 65,000 fans at full capacity. The league has notably deligated 7,500 free tickets for vaccinated healthcare workers, which will coincide with 14,500 more fans that will need to pay in order to be in attendance.

Not only will Super Bowl LV be unique but it will be a pretty historic event as well as the Buccaneers will become the first team in NFL history to play in a Super Bowl in its home stadium. Although the Minnesota Vikings came close a few years back, it will be the Buccaneers that can make this claim for the rest of eternity.

Who is playing in Super Bowl LV?

NFC Champion: Tampa Bay Buccaneers

The Tampa Bay Buccaneers defeated the No. 1 seeded Green Bay Packers for a second time this season on Sunday afternoon at Lambeau Field. They will host Super Bowl LV. With the Buccaneers, led by future Pro Football Hall of Fame quarterback Tom Brady, previously trampling the Packers by the score of 38-10 back in Week 6 of the regular season, Tampa Bay was at it again in the NFC Championship Game en route to beating Green Bay 31-26 this time around. The No. 5 seeded Buccaneers were unable to win the NFC South division and reached the postseason by way of a wild card berth, but Tampa Bay did eventually get some revenge along the way. Initially taking down the NFC East Champion Washington Football Team to open the playoffs, the Buccaneers then laid waste to the NFC South Champion and arch rival New Orleans Saints before edging out the NFC North Champion Packers on Sunday.

Prior to winning three playoff games against each of the NFC’s division winners, the Buccaneers finished the 2020-21 regular season with an 11-5 record as things were a bit tumultuous at times. However, the tandem of head coach Bruce Arians and Brady coupled with a high-powered offense and stout defense helped Tampa Bay pave the way back home for Super Bowl LV.

However, Sunday’s win over the Packers and another future Pro Football Hall of Fame signal caller Aaron Rodgers is just as much about the Buccaneers as it is the aforementioned Brady. Now a nine-time AFC Champion and one-time NFC Champion, Brady has reached 10 career Super Bowls while winning a total of six titles and four Super Bowl MVP Awards thus far. Of course, Brady previously spent his entire NFL playing career as a member of the New England Patriots before coming over to the Buccaneers this past offseason.

It is also worth noting that with his arrival in Super Bowl LV, Brady has 10 Super Bowl appearances, which are the most of any single player in NFL history while Tampa Bay’s lone Super Bowl appearance and title came as a result fo the 2002-03 campaign (Super Bowl XXXVII).

AFC Champion: Kansas City Chiefs

After breaking an unthinkable 50-season drought just a year ago, the defending Super Bowl Champion Kansas City Chiefs are already back for more. With Kansas City winning last year’s AFC Championship Game over the Tennessee Titans, the Chiefs have ousted the No. 2 seeded — and absolutely red hot — Buffalo Bills this time around with the seemingly untouchable AFC West franchise finding itself back in the Super Bowl for a second straight season. As a Super Bowl LV matchup against another streaking franchise in the Tampa Bay Buccaneers begins to loom large now that the Chiefs have officially accomplished what everyone believed would eventually be the case at this point in the 2020-21 campaign, Kansas City is now looking to become the first team to win back-to-back Super Bowls since the New England Patriots did so in 2003-04 and 2004-05.

Ironically enough, it will be the longtime Patriots and current Buccaneers quarterback Tom Brady standing in the way of the Chiefs potentially making some history in Super Bowl LV.

Brady and the Patriots defeated the Carolina Panthers and Philadelphia Eagles, respectively, with current Chiefs head coach Andy Reid leading the Eagles to a NFC title in 2004-05, while only further connecting the dots ahead of Super Bowl LV.

Even though a future Pro Football Hall of Famer in Brady will be standing between the Chiefs and another Lombardi Trophy in Super Bowl LV, Kansas City will be featuring the reigning Super Bowl MVP in fellow signal caller Patrick Mahomes. After winning a league MVP Award, Super Bowl MVP Award and Super Bowl title in only his first few NFL seasons, Mahomes once again upped the ante as he led the Chiefs to a nearly perfect 14-2 regular season record. Adding to this special — and obviously challenging — season, the Chiefs avenged the team’s only regular season loss at full strength to the Las Vegas Raiders before taking out both the Cleveland Browns and aforementioned Bills come playoff time. The Chiefs also lost to the rival Los Angeles Chargers in Week 17 but rested all of its starters.

With wins in both the divisional and conference championship rounds, even though Mahomes was forced from Kansas City’s win over the Browns due to a concussion, the Chiefs were initially granted a first round bye as the AFC’s No. 1 overall seed. Kansas City will now receive yet another week off between now and Super Bowl LV as Mahomes will no doubt be at full strength against the Buccaneers in Tampa Bay.