Whether you're a veteran or a new-time player, you've most likely heard of the game's Mercenaries Mode. In this article, we will be covering all of the unlockables in Resident Evil 4's Mercenaries Mode, as well as its various characters and stages.

Resident Evil 4 Mercenaries Mode: How to Unlock

For starters, let's start with how to unlock the game mode itself. Players will have to download the latest version of Resident Evil 4. Afterward, they must get the free The Mercenaries DLC from their respective stores (PlayStation 4 and PlayStation 5, Xbox Series X|S, PC) They must then download all of the DLC files. Unlike in the original, players do not need to finish the main story to play this game mode. Players can immediately jump into the game mode whenever they want

Resident Evil 4 Mercenaries: How to Unlock Stages

The Resident Evil 4 remake's Mercenaries Mode includes three maps: Village, Castle, and Island. By default, players have The Village unlocked. To unlock The Castle, the player must first beat The Village at least once. In the same way, to unlock The Island, the player must beat The Castle at least once.

Unlike the original game, the remake does not have a fourth map, which fans have taken to calling Water World Island or Marina. Should Capcom decide to include the new maps, we will be sure to update this article.

Resident Evil 4 Mercenaries: How to Unlock Characters

Live and breathe sports?

🚨 Get viral graphics, memes, rumors and trending sports news delivered right to your inbox with the Clutch Newsletter.

There are a total of four characters in the Mercenaries mode, each with its own strengths and weaknesses. Each character has different weapons, cache items, and more. Here's how to unlock all of them, as well as what equipment they have. Unlike the original, which had five available characters, the remake only has four. Not only that but fan favorite Ada Wong (although fans seem to not like her voice) and Albert Wesker are not available. Instead, as announced, Luis Sera joins the roster of playable characters.

Additionally, this version of the Mercenaries Mode introduces the Mayhem Mode. Each character has a specific Mayhem Mode effect, which empowers them for a certain amount of time. Think of it as a special power that the player can activate.

Below are the loadouts of each character, as well as how to unlock them.

  • Leon S Kennedy
    • Unlocked By Default
    • Equipment:
      • SG-09R with Laser Sight
      • 30x Handgun Ammo
      • Riot Gun
      • 10x Shotgun Shells
      • Stingray with High-power Scope
      • 5x Rifle Ammo
      • Combat Knife
      • First-Aid Spray
    • Mayhem Mode
      • Bullet Rush – Leon's damage dealt and movement speed increases
  • Luis Sera
    • Unlocked by getting an A Rank or higher while using Leon
    • Equipment:
      • Red9
      • 30x Handgun Ammo
      • SR-M1903 with Biosensor Scope
      • 5x Rifle Ammo
      • Boot Knife
      • Flash Grenade
      • 2x First-Aid SPrays
    • Mayhem Mode
      • Dynamite – Luis plants a stick of dynamite on the ground, which explodes when shot or when the fuse runs out.  Luis can place additional sticks of dynamite after the previous one explodes. Additionally, Luis is immune to explosive damage.
  • Jack Krauser
    • Unlocked by getting an A Rank or higher while using Luis
    • Equipment:
      • TMP
      • 30x SMG Ammo
      • EJF-388 Compound Bow
      • 3x Explosive Arrows
      • Fighting Knife
      • 3x Flash Grenades
      • FIrst-Aid Spray
    • Mayhem Mode
      • Mutation – Krauser's arm mutates, allowing him to use strong melee attacks for the duration of his Mayhem mode.
  • H.U.N.K.
    • Unlocked by getting an A Rank or higher while using Krauser
    • Equipment:
      • LE5
      • 160x SMG Ammo
      • Boot Knife
      • 3x Hand Grenades
      • First-Aid Spray
    • Mayhem Mode
      • Infinite Ammo –  H.U.N.K. has infinite ammo for the duration of his Mayhem Mode

If you've noticed, players need a certain rating to unlock new characters. The letter rating represents a certain amount of points players need to get on each character.

  • C: 0 points – 49,9999 points
  • B: 50,000 points – 99,9999 points
  • A: 100,000 points – 199,99 points
  • S: 200,000 points – 499,999 points
  • S+: 500,000 points – 999,999 points
  • S++: 1,000,000 points

As such, players will need to get at least 100,000 points on each character to unlock all of the characters. Additionally, if the player gets an S rank or higher in all three stages, they will be able to unlock the Handcannon from the Extra Content Shop for 1,000 CP. This is faster compared to having to finish Professional Mode without using bonus weapons.

That's all the information we have about all of the unlockables in Resident Evil 4. Should new information come out in the future, like new maps or playable characters, we will be sure to update this article. The game is available on PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5Xbox Series X|S, and PC. For more gaming news from us, you can also check out our latest gaming news articles.