The SEC admits to making a mistake during the Texas A&M game over the weekend. The specific play that happened to be questionable was when Aggies quarterback Kellen Mond appeared to score a touchdown, but an official instead called him out-of-bonds.
Here is a video of the play itself:
rumble young man rumble pic.twitter.com/0IX21eFyIK
— Yahoo Sports College Football (@YahooSportsCFB) September 23, 2017
You might be thinking the same thing the ref was. That Kellen Mond's foot touched the white part of the sideline. Unfortunately for Texas A&M, that foot we believe to be touching the sideline actually belongs to that of a player on the defensive side of the ball.
Here is a release sent out by the SEC:
Article Continues Below“On the play at 10:02 in the second quarter of the Arkansas vs. Texas A&M game, the ball carrier was incorrectly ruled out of bounds and the play whistled dead by the official.”
“Based on NCAA football playing rule 12-3-3-g, ‘If the ball carrier is ruled out of bounds, the play is not reviewable”
Basically, there was and still is nothing the conference can do to correct this mishap.
There is some relative good news, though. That play didn't cost the Aggies too much. While Mond's stats won't look nearly as nifty the rest of the season due to the play, Texas A&M still managed to win the game in overtime.
If anything, it will be interesting to see if the league — or any other conference for that matter — takes a harder look at if a play like this could be reviewed. The problem with that happens to be the fact that if a whistle blows, the ball is dead anyway. Can't penalize a defense for adhering to the whistle.