Texans news: DeAndre Hopkins counting amazing one-handed grab as catch despite penalty
Connect with us

Texans WR DeAndre Hopkins counting amazing one-handed grab as catch despite penalty

DeAndre Hopkins, Texans

Houston Texans wide receiver DeAndre Hopkins is known to have the best hands in the whole NFL. It seems that every week he provides a new spectacular catch to add to his already amazing highlight reel. This week was no different as he might have had the catch of the year. Unfortunately, it didn’t count.

In the 7:37 mark of the third quarter, quarterback DeShaun Watson connected with Hopkins on a deep pass on third down. Incredibly, Hopkins made the catch with one-hand and secured the ball by pinning it to the back of his leg. However, the referees made an offensive pass interference call which nullified the catch.

Hopkins later made his thoughts on the call known in an interview with the NFL network’s postgame show,

“That wasn’t pass interference there,” Hopkins said. “I think I amazed myself on that one. I definitely amazed myself on that one. I’m going to count that catch. That’s a catch in my book.”

DeShaun Watson seems to agree with his receiver

“One of the best catches I’ve ever seen,” Watson said. “Catching it one-handed, coming through his legs. I didn’t think it was offensive pass interference. The guy was holding him. He just stuck his hand out. It was a bad call on my part but at the end of the day, he did a heck of a job pulling it in. I mean, that’s what he does.”

Hopkins has been one of the reasons for the Texans’ current five-game win streak. His connection with Watson has also been key to the improvement in the Texans’ red zone offense which was terrible during the beginning of the season. Hopkins currently leads the Texans in receiving with 53 catches for 789 yards and six touchdowns on 78 targets through eight games, making his case as arguably the best receiver in the game. And given how he his play has resulted in wins, it’s hard to disagree.